Top 5 albums to write to

I almost always listen to music when I write. Music is a fantastic way to block out everything else, I find – I tend to get very distracted otherwise.

For me, the best albums to help me write are ones that I’m fairly familiar with (so I don’t end up stopping writing to listen to them), have minimal or no lyrics (to stop the lyrics seeping into my writing, and me singing along), and are fairly atmospheric (though this changes depending on what I’m writing).

My top five albums to write to changes on a daily (if not hourly) basis, but right now, at this precise moment, I’d go with:

1. Ghosts – Nine Inch Nails

2. Requiem – Mozart

3.

Inception (soundtrack) – Hans Zimmer

4.

Dracula (soundtrack) – Wojciech Kilar

5.

Whatever You Love, You Are – The Dirty Three

What’s your favourite music to listen to (or read to)?

6 Responses to “Top 5 albums to write to”

  1. I find Post Rock, which is largely instrumental, works really well. My favourite post rock band is probably MONO – I’d recommend their album Hymn To The Immortal Wind.

  2. Been studying up pretty hard for the CCIE lab lately. Soundtracks are the best to work to. For me in the last month its been:

    Mass Effect 2 OST:

    Battlestar Galactica OST – theres like 4 seasons worth:

    Bladerunner OST:

    Iron Man 2 OST:

    http://ocremix.org/ is pretty good too!

    • Nice – Good choices Evan (though I will not comment on the last one!).

      I’ve given the Mass Effect 2 sountrack a good workout over the last months, though I must admit I never actually got around to getting the game. That’s actually very weird, now that I think of it.

      • Yeah the OCremix one is a bit obscure. Theres a lot of crap on there. They have a torrent somewhere where you can download it all. I got it and culled it back, some pretty good old video game remixes in there.

        As for ME2, my fav RPG ever. Can’t wait for ME3! Tried the inception soundtrack thismorning off youtube. I still haven’t seen that film.

      • I dunno why, I just never got around to getting Mass Effect 2. I really liked the story for the first one, but the whole shooter/rpg crossover didn’t really work for me so much. I kinda always wanted it to play like KOTOR or Dragon Age.

        You NEED to see Inception. Epic. Just don’t watch it when you are tired – you need to be alert.

Leave a Reply

